gluten free

Gluten Friendly Beer

Brewers usually make beer using four basic ingredients: water, hops, yeast, and malt. That last ingredient, malt, is what gives most beer its gluten. “Malt” basically means a grain—often gluten-containing barley, wheat, or rye.

In the United States, Canada and Europe, a beer is considered gluten free if the gluten level is under 20 parts per million.

True gluten free beer is brewed with no gluten containing ingredients from the start and typically certified as gluten free. 

Bard’s Tale Beer– brewed from 100% malted sorghum

Dogfish Head Tweason’ale- made from sorghum

Epic Brewing Company Glutenator Gluten-Free Beer made from sweet potatoes

Ghostfish Brewing IPA

Glutenbergs beer is all brewed from 100% glutenfree ingredients and no gluten-containing ingredients are allowed in the brewery, eliminating any chance of cross-contamination. The beer is also vegan, sulphite free, and the cans are made of 100% BPA-free materials.

Green’s beers have been brewed since 2004 in Belgium, making them one of the longest continuously produced gluten-free beers in the world. In place of barley malt, Green’s uses a blend of millet, sorghum, rice and buckwheat.

Lakefront New Grist- made from sorghum, hops, water rice and gluten-free yeast.

O’Brien Beer- uses millet and sorghum

New Planet Pale Ale

Redbridge- Made with sorghum

Redbridge

Steadfast Beer Co.’s highly-rated Pale Ale is brewed with sorghum, molasses, and hops

Whistler Forager made from a blend of gluten-free sorghum and rice. It is dark and malty. Compare it to Guinness.

Gluten removed means is typically they add an enzyme during the brewing process that eliminates or removes the gluten.

Daura Damm Lager

New Belgium Glutiny Pale Ale

New Planet (Gluten removed)

Omission Lager (Gluten removed)

Stone Delicious India Pale Ale (Gluten removed)

Stone Brewing Feature and Benefits IPA (Gluten Removed)

Cider is fermented from apples and other fruits to add flavour. Ciders are normally gluten free but some companies add other things into their ciders. These ciders are gluten free. If you want to try other ciders just make sure to read the labels.

  • Ace Pear Cider
  • Angry Orchard
  • Crispin Cider Co.
  • Original Sin
  • Strongbow Apple Ciders
  • Woodchuck Cider

0 comments on “Gluten Friendly Beer

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: