gluten free

Are there allergens in your Wine?

Wine is usually gluten-free, but that only means that its’ gluten content is below the FDA approved the amount. This limit is less than 20 parts per million, which is quite low, so many people with gluten intolerance can still tolerate it.

Unfortunately, though, those with gluten sensitivity or celiac disease can be sensitive to this chemical. So we will examine which wines are most suited for people with this particular dietary preference, or for people who just want to be totally gluten free. Look for wines made without using gluten during the fining process or by aging it in oak barrels sealed with wheat paste, which may add a tiny amount of gluten. Some use stainless steel tanks instead of barrels. While this eliminates the risk of gluten contamination, it introduces the chance of heavy metal leaching since wine is an acidic liquid (pH 3.0 – 3.6). Furthermore, the wine remains in contact with the stainless steel for a very long time, giving ample opportunity for nickel contamination to occur.

But gluten isn’t the end of the story. Egg whites can be used to clarify red wines while casein (a dairy allergen) is used to clarify whites. Chitosan (covers shellfish and cockroaches) can be used as a finishing agent in white wines.

Some consumers are also concerned about sulfites. USDA-certified organic wines can contain virtually no sulfites at all. Organic grapes are cultivated in vineyards that avoid the use of synthetic fertilizers, herbicides, fungicides and pesticides. Organic wines are also usually GMO-free and free of mold.

“Wine made with organic grapes” are also made from 100% organic grapes but sulfites may be added- up to 100 milligrams per liter.

Biodynamic wines employ organic practices, as they avoid pesticides and depend on compost, rather than chemical fertilizer. The majority of these wines are, therefore, also organic in practice. Certified biodynamic wines, however, are permitted to contain up to 100 parts per million of sulfites.

Because organic and biodynamic wines have lower sulfites, their shelf life may be shorter, and they may not have the “aged” taste that wine drinkers enjoy.

Natural wine is made entirely without chemical intervention and with the bare minimum of technological manipulation.

Before you buy a bottle of wine, do some research. Before you go to a restaurant, check the wine list and do some research. If you are at the restaurant, check the label and research using your phone browser.

  1. Cupcake Vineyards are producers that have stated that they don’t use any grains during the making of their wines. Try their Merlot, Pinot Grigio, Red Velvet, or Rose
  2. Frey Vineyards – Known for: being America’s first organic and biodynamic winery. Jonathan and Katrina Frey were among the first American winemakers to become certified organic. Located in California, the wine of Frey Vineyard is also vegan. They also feature no added sulfates. Organic Sauvignon Blanc, Biodynamic Cabernet Sauvignon, Zinfandel, and Organic Red
  3. Kitchen Sink Red or White Blend
  4. Fat Bastard their wines are vegetarian and vegan friendly
  5. Bonterra they have an Organic collection of wines, and a Biodynamic collection. Some of their Organic options include: Cabernet Sauvignon, Chardonnay, Rose, Merlot, Zinfandel and Pinot Noir
  6. Eppa SupraFruta Organic Red Sangria Fruit Wine from California
  7. BioMio Organic Red and White Sangria
  8. Marques de Caceres Organic Red 2018 Tempranillo from Rioja, Spain
  9. Our Daily Wines are USDA Organic Certified, Gluten Free, Vegan, no detectable sulfites,

True champagnes and other sparkling wines are made from a particular type of grape that’s fermented through a specific process, and although this process involves yeast fermentation as well, the type of yeast used in creating the carbon responsible for bubbles in sparkling wine is not associated with wheat.

  1. Bellisima is a certified organic and vegan wine by Christie Brinkley and they offer Prosecco, Sparkling Rose, Sparkling Zero Sugar
  2. Organic Prosecco of Cantina Pizzolato are made with 100% organically grown grapes and are Certified Vegan by the Vegan Society of the UK.
  3. Korbel Organic Brut

Wine Coolers:

Seagrams wine coolers are certified gluten free

Disclosure: This article contains affiliate links – this means, at no additional cost to you, I will earn a commission if you click through the link and make a purchase.

Click here to search for your Largest selection of wine!

Click here to shop for availability at Drizly

Click here to shop at

Organic section at Total Wine

These statements have not been evaluated by the Food and Drug Administration. The contents of this website/e-mail are for informational purposes only and are not intended to be a substitute for professional medical advice, diagnosis or treatment. Always seek the advice of your physician or other qualified health provider with any questions you may have regarding a medical condition.

It is my pleasure to provide you with this information at no charge to you. In order to do this, however, please note that I may receive referral commission when you follow links and purchase items. In no way, shape or form, do I allow these affiliate relationships to influence the information that I present on this site. In other words, I believe in the products and/or services that these affiliates offer.

0 comments on “Are there allergens in your Wine?

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: